Philosophy at UTSC

Our department was born on July 1, 2010. Prior to this, our faculty were members of the Department of Humanities; this arrangement had been in place since the founding of UTSC. Our department hosts a mix of veteran members and more recent hires: some of us have been at UTSC since the 1980s or earlier, though most of us moved here after 2002. Our first department chair is Philip Kremer, who has been at UTSC since 2003, and served as philosophy discipline representative from 2003 to 2007.

We are a group of dedicated researchers and teachers. From year to year, our collective publication record is frequently the best and always nearly so among the university’s three philosophy departments. At the same time, we are committed to providing a sound philosophical education to students from a range of constituencies: from those seeking initial exposure either to philosophy in general or to philosophical perspectives on a more specific issue; to those hoping to accumulate the intellectual tools and expanded perspective that follow on a more sustained exposure to philosophy; to those who want preprofessional training on the road to an MA or PhD in philosophy.

The UTSC philosophers are members of the tricampus Graduate Department of Philosophy. The graduate department is ranked among the top 15 philosophy departments in North America, and is among the top 10 departments in public institutions in the English-speaking world.

What is philosophy?

Why study philosophy?